The Trail Went Cold – Episode 116 – The Sarah Joe

February 11, 1979. Hana, Hawaii. Five men – 27-year old Scott Moorman, 31-year old Peter Hanchett, 38-year old Benjamin Kalama, 26-year old Patrick Woesner and 27-year old Ralph Malaiakini – leave the island of Maui on a fishing trip in a boat named the “Sarah Joe”. When a violent storm hits the area, the Sarah Joe and its crew do not return and an extensive search effort fails to find them. Nine-and-a-half years later, the Sarah Joe is discovered over 2,300 miles away on a remote atoll in the Marshall Islands, along with a marked grave containing the skeletal remains of Scott Moorman. However, no trace of the other four missing men is ever found. How did the Sarah Joe wind up so far away? Were any of the crew members still alive when it arrived? If not, who was responsible for burying Scott Moorman? On this week’s episode of “The Trail Went Cold”, we examine one of the most bizarre and unique mysteries involving the disappearance of a boat.

This episode of “The Trail Went Cold” is brought to you by “Murder Book”, a new true crime podcast hosted by bestselling author Michael Connelly, available on Apple Podcasts or wherever you listen.

Additional Reading:

“The Trail Went Cold” will be appearing on podcast row at CrimeCon 2019 from June 7th-9th at the Hilton Riverside hotel in New Orleans. Listeners can receive a 10% discount on the purchase of a standard badge by using the promo code “COLD19”.

“The Trail Went Cold” will also be appearing at True Crime Podcast Festival 2019 on July 13th at the Marriott Downtown in Chicago. Please visit their website for more details.

“The Trail Went Cold” is on Patreon! Visit to become a patron and gain access to our exclusive bonus content.

Click here to subscribe to the podcast on iTunes.

Click here to listen to the podcast on Stitcher.

Click here to subscribe to the podcast on Google Play Music.

Click here to subscribe to the podcast on Spotify.

The Trail Went Cold is produced and edited by Magill Foote.

All music is composed by Vince Nitro.